Rivet Selection In Plans/BM?

General Panther Building Discussion
Forum rules
A forum for Panther aircraft builders and Enthusiasts. Two simple rules: Play nice and use a real name
dgallant0x007
First Name: Dave
Last Name: G
City or Town: Denver
State or Province: Colorado

Re: Rivet Selection In Plans/BM?

Post by dgallant0x007 »

Just for feedback, as a new SPA builder, I struggled with the same thing.

I understand there are various options for rivets, but new builders will often start with the tail. Even if it is redundant, a rivet example or suggestion should be included on the plans so the quantities of the hardware kits can be respected.

tomkk
First Name: Tom
Last Name: Kodey
City or Town: Port Orange
State or Province: FL

Post by tomkk »

I've just started my Panther and am struggling with the same thing. I understand the various rivets and their uses and having a choice is great. Is there any way, though, to understand what assumptions were used when the rivet quantities provided in the hardware kits were determined? I'm not trying to over think this, I'm just happy to go with whatever was originally assumed when the kit was put together. I'd rather not run out of a required type when I could just as easily made a different choice earlier.
Tom
Port Orange, Fl
Panther #104 (1st flight March 13, 2020, 72 hrs as of July 15, 2020)
RV-12 (1st flight June 10, 2015)
RV-12 (Eagles Nest 1st flight May 18, 2019)

75kr@att.net
First Name: Kevin
Last Name: Ross
City or Town: Granbury
State or Province: TX

Post by 75kr@att.net »

Dan, thanks for the quick reply, copy all. Guess I was trying to make it harder than it is. Moving forward!

Kevin

danweseman
First Name: dan
Last Name: weseman
State or Province:

Post by danweseman »

Kevin